• Save shipping costs with an order value of 100€ (in Germany)
  • We ship to the entire EU
  • Save shipping costs with an order value of 100€ (in Germany)
  • We ship to the entire EU

Superfood instead of food waste

Dark yellow, pleasantly sweet, full of vitamins - it's no wonder that mangoes are so popular. However, what comes onto the European market often tastes bland. Harvested immature in the growing countries, the mangoes no longer develop their full aroma and the sun is missing.

Yvonne Otieno, head of Miyonga in Kenya's Machakos County, has the solution:

dried mango strips and fruit powder. Not only does it give tens of dishes an authentic mango taste, it also helps solve economic and social problems in Otieno's homeland. How it works?

“I don't run a business,” she says. “I fight against food waste.” Otieno used to work as a Development Communication expert for international aid organizations, at some point she wanted to set up something herself that would drive Kenya's development forward. She found her business opportunity in one problem: food waste. As in many other African countries, a large proportion of the food produced for export in Kenya ends up in the garbage every year. "About 40 percent of the fruits and vegetables do not make it into the supply chain because the goods are considered to be of inferior quality," says Otieno. "If the goods don't look perfect, if a mango only has a small flaw, it will be sorted out by the international buyer at the latest, and a large part of it is already rotting on the farm."

Strict market norms - little income

In addition to the food itself, valuable resources are also wasted on cultivation, packaging and transport. The strict norms of the market mean many small farmers in Kenya and massive income losses for local middlemen. Lower income means fewer opportunities for the country's development, families lack the money for school fees and education for children, for transport and good health care. Although Kenya is increasingly suffering from climate change and droughts, more than 80 percent of the people make a living from agriculture, with 32 percent of the gross national product it is the backbone of the Kenyan economy.

For Otieno, it quickly became clear what the farmers were missing.

"You do not have the knowledge or the technology to further process your raw materials, as pure raw material producers you are completely dependent on the requirements of the global market." Your company Miyonga, founded in 2015 together with your sister Dorothy, fills the gap. Otieno and her 9-member team offer farmers help in refining the goods: They train them in processing with modern machines, they advise on cultivation techniques and the necessary certificates, they act as trading partners. Discarded mangoes, bananas, pineapples and coconuts are now turned into aromatic dried fruits and fruit powder with attractive potential for the international market.

Product

• Wir schenken Dir die Versandkosten ab 100€ Bestellwert (in DE)
  • Wir schenken Dir die Versandkosten ab 100€ Bestellwert (in DE)

Superfood Statt food waste

Dunkelgelb, angenehm süß, voller Vitamine – kein Wunder, dass Mangos so beliebt sind. Was auf den europäischen Markt kommt, schmeckt jedoch oft fade. In den Anbauländern unreif geerntet, entwickeln die Mangos nicht mehr ihr volles Aroma, die Sonne fehlt.

Yvonne Otieno, Chefin von Miyonga in Kenias Machakos County, hat die Lösung:

getrocknete Mangostreifen und -Fruchtpulver. Es verleiht nicht nur zig Gerichten einen authentischen Mangogeschmack, es trägt auch zum Lösen wirtschaftlicher und sozialer Probleme in Otienos Heimat bei. Wie das funktioniert?

„Ich führe kein Unternehmen“ sagt sie. „Ich kämpfe gegen Lebensmittelverschwendung.“ Früher arbeitete Otieno als PR-Expertin für internationale Hilfsorganisationen, irgendwann wollte sie selbst etwas auf die Beine stellen, das Kenias Entwicklung voran treibt. In einem Problem fand sie ihre Geschäftschance: Lebensmittelverschwendung – ‚food waste‘. Wie in vielen anderen afrikanischen Ländern landet in Kenia Jahr für Jahr ein großer Teil der für den Export erzeugten Nahrungsmittel auf dem Müll. „Etwa 40 Prozent der Früchte und des Gemüses schafft es nicht in die Lieferkette, weil die Ware als minderwertig gilt“, sagt Otieno. „Sieht die Ware nicht perfekt aus, hat eine Mango nur einen kleinen Makel, wird sie spätestens vom internationalen Einkäufer aussortiert, ein Großteil verrottet bereits auf der Farm.“

Strikte Marktnormen – wenig Einkommen

Neben den Lebensmitteln selbst werden auch wertvolle Ressourcen für den Anbau, für Verpackung und Transport vergeudet. Die strikten Normen des Marktes bedeuten für Kenias viele kleine Landwirte und für lokale Zwischenhändler massive Einkommensverluste. Weniger Einkommen wiederum bedeutet weniger Chancen für die Entwicklung des Landes, Familien fehlt das Geld für Schulgebühren und Ausbildung der Kinder, für Transportmittel und für gute Gesundheitsversorgung. Obwohl Kenia immer stärker unter Klimawandel und Dürren leidet, leben mehr als 80 Prozent der Menschen von der Landwirtschaft, mit 32 Prozent des Bruttonationalprodukts ist sie das Rückgrat der kenianischen Wirtschaft.

Für Otieno stand schnell fest was den Landwirten fehlte.

„Sie haben nicht das Wissen und nicht die Technik, um ihre Rohstoffe weiter zu verarbeiten, als reine Rohstoffproduzenten sind sie komplett von den Vorgaben des globalen Marktes abhängig.“ Ihr Unternehmen Miyonga, gegründet 2015 zusammen mit Ihrer Schwester Dorothy füllt die Lücke. Otieno und ihr 9-Mitarbeiter-Team bieten Landwirten Hilfe beim Veredeln der Ware: Sie schulen beim Verarbeiten mit modernen Maschinen, sie beraten bei Anbautechniken und nötigen Zertifikaten, sie agieren als Handelspartner. Aus ausgemusterten Mangos, Bananen, Ananas und Kokosnuss werden nun aromatische Trockenfrüchte und Fruchtpulver mit attraktivem Potenzial für den internationalen Markt.

Produkte