• Save shipping costs with order value of 100€ and above (in Germany)
  • Save shipping costs with order value of 100€ and above (in Germany)

Whole milk, bissap and hibiscus 

Hardly sweet, intense cocoa taste, suddenly a fruity acidity. “Bissap,” says Kimberley Addison, breaking off a corner of a thin, reddish bar of chocolate. "A traditional African drink made from hibiscus leaves."

Ghana is - after the Ivory Coast - the second largest raw cocoa producer in the world, the two countries supply a good 70 percent of global demand, a quarter comes from Ghana. However, cocoa accounts for less than two percent of Ghana's gross domestic product. The range of chocolate in Ghanaian supermarkets is abundant, with all the major international brands on the shelves, many made with cocoa from Ghana.

'Made in Ghana', however, is the exception, only the state-owned cocoa company and a small chocolate company near Accra produce local industrial goods.

People in Africa consume less than four percent of the chocolate sold worldwide. But consumer behavior on the continent is changing, in many countries a middle class is growing up that has money, appreciates pleasure and for whom fine chocolate is an affordable form of luxury.

The 57Chocolate sisters want to open up this market. The program currently includes 21 varieties, dark chocolate, milk chocolate, white and coffee, sometimes pure, sometimes with sea salt, fresh coconut, almond slivers. The trademark of 57 is Bissap, the hibiscus flavored variety. “Bissap was our favorite drink as children, our mother made it herself for many years and with a lot of effort,” says Kimberley. Today the sisters love green tea, so there has recently been a white chocolate with matcha tea. “Making chocolate allows a lot of creativity,” says Priscilla. "And as a start-up that makes small quantities, it's easy to experiment with new varieties."

Cast in molds with traditional symbols of the Ghanaian Asanti Ashanti people, called Adinkra, they stand for qualities such as strength, beauty, humanity, courage.

The chocolate packaging material also comes from Ghana. The entire added value should remain in the country.

Special optics for special chocolates: The design of 57Chocolate refers to the history and culture of Ghana.

Products

• Wir schenken Dir die Versandkosten ab 100€ Bestellwert (in DE)
  • Wir schenken Dir die Versandkosten ab 100€ Bestellwert (in DE)

Vollmilch, Bissap und Hibiskus

Kaum süß, intensiver Kakaogeschmack, plötzlich eine fruchtige Säure. „Bissap“, sagt Kimberley Addison und bricht eine Ecke einer dünnen, rötlichen Tafel Schokolade ab. „Ein traditionelles afrikanisches Getränk aus Hibiskusblättern.“

Weniger als vier Prozent der weltweit verkauften Schokolade konsumieren Menschen in Afrika. Doch das Konsumverhalten auf dem Kontinent ändert sich, in vielen Ländern wächst eine Mittelschicht heran, die Geld hat, Genuss schätzt und für die edle Schokolade eine erschwingliche Form des Luxus darstellt.

Diesen Markt wollen die 57Chocolate-Schwestern erschließen. Aktuell 21 Sorten gehören zum Programm, dunkle Schokolade, Milchschokolade, weiße und Kaffee, mal pur, mal mit Meersalz, frischer Kokosnuss, Mandelsplittern. Markenzeichen von 57 ist Bissap, die Sorte mit Hibiskusgeschmack. „Bissap war unser Lieblingsgetränk als Kinder, unsere Mutter hat es viele Jahre und mit viel Aufwand selbst gemacht“, erzählt Kimberley. Heute lieben die Schwestern grünen Tee, also gibt es seit kurzem eine weiße Schokolade mit Matcha-Tee.„Schokolademachen ermöglicht sehr viel Kreativität“, sagt Priscilla. „Und als Startup, das kleine Mengen herstellt, ist es einfach mit neuen Sorten zu experimentieren.“

In Formen mit traditionellen Symbolen des ghanaischen Asanti Aschanti-Volkes gegossen, Adinkra genannt, stehen sie für Eigenschaften wie Stärke, Schönheit, Menschlichkeit, Mut.

Auch das Verpackungsmaterial der Schokolade kommt aus Ghana. Die komplette Wertschöpfung soll im Land verbleiben.

Besondere Optik für besondere Schokoladen: Das Design von 57Chocolate bezieht sich auf die Geschichte und Kultur Ghanas.

Produkte